Best Reads of 2013, Part 2

Last Saturday, I posted Part 1 of my Best Reads of 2013. Today I’m sharing Part 2.

Sacred Pathways: Discover Your Soul’s Path to God by Gary Thomas

sac

This is another book that takes personality types in account.  Thomas helps readers discover how they best connect with God and take steps to nurture time spent in worship.

Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

light

This was the only piece of fiction I read this year (terrible, I know), and I’m so glad I did.  Stedman writes a haunting story about an infertile couple who find a baby and raise it as their own, only to be discovered years later.  It left me with many thoughts about the definition of parenthood and motherhood, and the story was on my mind days after I finished it.

How I Changed My Mind About Women in Leadership: Compelling Stories From Prominent Evangelicals, edited by Alan F. Johnson

how

During the summer I read several books about women in leadership and ministry, and this was one of my favorite.  It contains several essays from well-known church leaders of the last few decades who uses to oppose giving women pastoral and leadership roles in the church, but have now changed their mind.  Fascinating read.

Inconceivable: A Woman’s Triumph Over Despair and Statistics by Julia Indichova

inc

Indichova is a prominent infertility advocate and I enjoyed reading the story about how she beat the biological odds and conceived a child.  There is a mystical element to the book that I could’ve done without, but it was inspiring to read about her self-case methods and positive outlook.

7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker

7

Having moved 3 times in 3 years and currently living in a 890-square foot house with no linen closets, no garage, and no storage I’ve recently been forced to downsize almost everything.  I’ve read several books and blogs over this time period that have helped me see that simplicity is good, but this book took it to the next level.  I appreciate how she was honest about her struggles to downsize and simplify and was inspired by the results she saw in her soul and family.

 I’d love to hear your take on any of these books or any others you read last year!

One thought on “Best Reads of 2013, Part 2

  1. Am reading “7” (slowly) and really enjoy her style and brings up a lot of good points. Also, just put “light between oceans” on hold at the library here. thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

