Why You Should Care About Alzheimer’s

My grandmother, Janey, is 83 years old and suffers dementia that has progressed rapidly over the past two years.  No one knows for sure if it’s Alzheimer’s (because only an autopsy can confirm the disease), but all signs lead us to believe that it is.

My grandmother and I in 2001

My grandmother and I in 2001

If don’t currently have a loved-one who suffers from dementia or Alzheimer’s, the odds are that one day you will.  Alzheimer’s has been all over the news recently, and some researchers are saying that Alzheimer’s-related dementia is on its way to becoming the biggest health crisis our parents’ generation will face.  And that means their caretakers (us!) will be the ones providing and paying for care.

2009

2009

Matt Katawicz, the chairman Walk to End Alzheimer’s San Jose, does a fantastic job at outlining why young people should care about Alzheimer’s and how it will affect us.  I’ll be joining Matt and thousands of other people on Saturday, October 12 in the Walk to End Alzheimer’s.  All the money raised for that event will go towards research to help cure Alzheimer’s.

My grandmother and I in 2011, shortly before her dementia rapidly progressed

My grandmother and I in 2011, shortly before her dementia rapidly progressed

I’m walking for my grandmother.  But I’m also walking for my mom, who deals with coordinating her care from 3,000 miles away.  I’m walking for my aunt- a widow, who has willingly brought her mother-in-law into her home.  And I’m walking for my cousin, who is spending countless hours of her 20s driving my grandmother around town, helping her with meals, and keeping her company.  I’m walking because I feel like I need to do something to help, and this is about all I can do from three time zones away.

GMGatorGameFIU

My grandmother attending a Florida Gator’s football game

If you’d like to sponsor me as I walk, you can do so by clicking here.  Your money goes directly to the Alzheimer’s Association and will help researchers develop treatment and find a cure.

One thought on “Why You Should Care About Alzheimer’s

  1. Pingback: Year in Review 2013 |

Leave a Reply

