Reading

The new Wimpy Kid books have arrived!

The best part about my job is seeing kids excited about reading.  On a normal day, I consider it encouraging if I have one or two kids put a hold-request on a book that someone else is reading or on a book they know I’ve ordered but hasn’t arrived yet.  But last week, I had waiting list of 20 students (!!!) for the latest installment of The Diary of a Wimpy Kid.  If you’re not around upper-elementary or middle school students, you might have not heard of this fabulous book.  I can’t keep it on the shelves.  The series is pretty hilarious- even for adults. So hilarious, in fact, that I laughed out loud when I read it.  And I may or may not have paid $5 to rent the movie on pay-per-view.  It’s that funny.

A rare quiet moment in my library

Whether it’s Wimpy Kid, airplane books, manga books, whatever- I take great joy in seeing kids who come to the library not only to use the computers, but to read books that no one is making them read.  The best days are when I hear kids talking about books they chose and recommending them to other kids.  Or days when boxes of new books arrive and the students harass me all day until I open them up and put them on the shelves.  Those days, when I see them becoming life-long readers, are when I feel I’m doing my best work.

One thought on “Reading

Leave a Reply

